Latour and de Sade

On the surface, I’m a really lousy Christmas shopper. I usually just go into a bookstore and find one book for each family member. I do try to put some thought into what books I give away, spending some energy on finding a good match between book and person. This year, I found this book in the bookstore:

Latour is an ugly murderer, say no more say no more

Latour is an ugly murderer, say no more say no more

Of course, I had to buy it. When Latour, the book’s protagonist, even turned out to be remarkably ugly and ends up being the Marquis de Sade’s manservant, I was sold. It’s the first time in a while I’ve read an entire book in a day. Some credit for that must go to the local bus company, who spent an hour and a half on a half hour trip today. Anyway, the book was nice, although I think I prefer the Marquis’ own accounts of depravation and morals.

Leave a Reply

